Skip to Main Content

People

Director

Dr. J. Vanderlei Martins
Professor of Physics
Physics and Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Physics, Room 429
Office: 410-455-2764
martins@umbc.edu

Affiliated Academic Faculty

Dr. Belay Demoz
Professor and JCET Director
Physics and Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Physics, Room 426
Offices: 410-455-2715 (UMBC),  410-455-5706 (JCET)
bdemoz@umbc.edu

Dr. Carlos A. Romero Talamás
Assistant Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Engineering, Room 212
Office: 410-455-8049
romero@umbc.edu

Dr. Pengwang Zhai
Assistant Professor
Physics and Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Physics, Room 427
Office: 410-455-3682
pwzhai@umbc.edu

Dr. Zhibo Zhang
Associate Professor
Physics and Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Physics, Room 418
Office: 410-455-6315
zhibo.zhang@umbc.edu

Affiliated Research Faculty

Dr. Lorraine Remer
Research Professor
Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Geography and Environmental Systems
Physics
Office: 410-908-0836
remer@umbc.edu

Dr. Roberto Fernandez Borda
Instrument Scientist
Optical Engineering
Digital Electronics, FPGA, Command and Data Handling
rfborda@umbc.edu

Dr. Xiaoguang (Richard) Xu
Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Science Algorithm Development
xxu@umbc.edu

Dr. Diego R. Loyola
Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology
Science Algorithm and Satellite Data Analysis
dloyolar@umbc.edu

Support Personnel

J. Dominik Cieslak
Electrical and Systems Engineering
cieslak@umbc.edu

Benjamin Cramer
Mechanical Engineering
ben.cramer@umbc.edu

Steve Cole
Mechanical Engineering
stevecole888@gmail.com

Dr. Tiberiu Onuta
Contamination, Materials, and Risk Mitigation
tdanonuta@yahoo.com

Associated Students

Brent McBride
Instrument Scientist
PhD Student, Atmospheric Physics
mcbride1@umbc.edu

Anin Puthukkudy
Aerosol Measurement and Data Analysis
PhD Student, Atmospheric Physics
aniin1@umbc.edu

William Birmingham
Thermal Systems
PhD Student, Mechanical Engineering
birming2@umbc.edu

Noah Sienkiewicz
Aerosol and Cloud Remote Sensing
PhD Student, Atmospheric Physics
noahs3@umbc.edu

Sabrina Thompson
Small Satellite Constellations
PhD Student, Atmospheric Physics
and NASA GSFC
sabrina.n.thompson@nasa.gov

Palkpoom Pongsuphat
Command and Data Handling
MS Student, Computer Engineering
palkpon1@umbc.edu

Blake Prout
Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering Major
bprout1@umbc.edu

Sanjay Mysore
Undergraduate Mechanical Engineering Major
smysore1@umbc.edu